Tracing my grandmother's family WATTERS in Dundalk

Tracing my grandmother's family WATTERS in Dundalk

Author
Posted Sat 17 Dec 2016 4:23 PM
View Quick Profile
New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)
Group: [0] Last Active: - Visits: 0
I am going to be staying in Dundalk in May and hoping to find out a bit more about my grandmother.  All I know is she was born c1879 in Dundalk and her father's name was JOHN WATTERS.  She is first found in the 1901 England Census as a kitchenmaid in a dining room in Birkenhead, Cheshire age 18.  She married my grandfather WILLIAM KAVANAGH in 1904 at which time her father was shown as deceased.  I have been researching for many years and cannot come up with a birth record for her.  Where would the best place be to start my research - in Dundalk or the National Archives in Dublin?  There is a family connection through a THOMAS WATTERS through QUIGLEY .  I have Thomas's marriage record and feel that John might have been a brother of Thomas.  If I go to the church where he was married would there be more information re the family - he married in 1882.?
Profile Picture
Posted Sat 17 Dec 2016 5:55 PM
View Quick Profile
Community Expert
Community Expert (70.1K reputation)Community Expert (70.1K reputation)Community Expert (70.1K reputation)Community Expert (70.1K reputation)Community Expert (70.1K reputation)Community Expert (70.1K reputation)Community Expert (70.1K reputation)Community Expert (70.1K reputation)Community Expert (70.1K reputation)
Gold Achievements 4 Silver Achievements 4 Bronze Achievements 28
Island of Ireland
Group: Community Moderator Last Active: 2 days ago @ 8:17 AM Visits: 13.3K
Hi Angela,

Welcome to the community and thanks for your question.