SEARCHING FOR MARTIN & CECILIA GETTINS

SEARCHING FOR MARTIN & CECILIA GETTINS

Author
Posted Thu 23 Nov 2017 2:41 PM
View Quick Profile
New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)
Group: [0] Last Active: - Visits: 0
Hi Everyone

I am a newbie to the group and happy to be here. I will be visiting Dublin in August 2018 with my daughter for 2 weeks. We are so looking forward to it, especially as our ancestors orginate from Ireland.   I'm hoping to find someone who may have MARTIN GETTINS as an ancestor. Martin was born anytime between 1826-1830 in Country Sligo. The Sligo Heritage & Genealogy Centre require more info from me, in order to assist me with my search.  Martin left Ireland and settled in Liverpool in England. He can be found in the 1851 England, Wales and Scotland Census, where it is documented that he was 23 years old and single. I can find no 1861 Census, but he and his family are documented in the 1871 and 1881 Census'. The sites I have been searching are FamilySearch.org and FindMyPast.com, which have provided me with all the information I have so far.  The SH&GC have advised that I contact the Liverpool Record Office to see if I can obtain copies of his children's civil birth records. I have done this and am waiting for a Researcher to contact me. They are hoping that perhaps his father's name is mentioned, as well as his wife Cecilia's pre-marriage name, so that I can trace her as well.  I am hoping that someone from this group researching the GETTINS family, may have Martin documented as a sibling in their family.