Auto insurance for a three month stay.

Auto insurance for a three month stay.

Author
Posted Wed 14 Feb 2018 2:11 AM
View Quick Profile
New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)
Group: [0] Last Active: - Visits: 0
I want to drive the Wild Atlantic Way, and  spend another two and a half months in Ireland, but I'm concerned about the cost of insurance.  Any advice?  Are any credit cards still allowed to defray the cost of insurance?
Thanks,  Darlene

Profile Picture
Posted Wed 14 Feb 2018 10:06 AM
View Quick Profile
New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)New Member (0 reputation)
Hi Darlene,

I work in the industry. Feel free to ask me any follow up questions. 

Typically in Ireland, a tourist car rental is less than 35 days. Any longer than that and you are in a long-term rental product. I won't go into the technicalities of why!

Normally long-term rentals are not quoted online and you will need to phone up. The other difference is they will have different insurance options, more suitable to the duration you mentioned. 

Your other option is to rent a car only when you need it. This obviously depends on where you are going to be based, and to a degree the seasonality of the time you are planning to visit. 

I hope this is useful. 

Ronan 
Profile Picture
Posted Wed 14 Feb 2018 10:17 AM
View Quick Profile
Community Expert